Most Anticipated Books Of 2016

Much like my Favorite Books of 2015, this is going to be a list of what I’m planning to read during the next year, regardless of when it was published. In fact, few if any of these books are due out in 2016 as I rarely learn about books of interest to me until after they are already published.  This is again just an attempt to spotlight some things that really interest me and might interest you also.

Postwar by Tony Judt
History after World War II, especially outside of the USA, is that part that always got skimmed or skipped at the end of the semester in school. Not only am I interested and the book is supposed to be pretty good, but I really feel like I should know this stuff.

American Colossus: The Triumph of Capitalism, 1865-1900 by H. W. Brands
I’ve read one American History book by this author which I really enjoyed, but I have yet to get around to reading a second.  Dr. Engle, my outstanding college professor also read and recommended this during my final semester.

The Chickamauga Campaign (3 volumes) by David Powell
I’m planning to visit the battlefield in May so I want to brush up on the latest (and probably most definitive) works on the subject.  I’ve only previously read Peter Cozzens’ book on the battle.

Shiloh: Conquer or Perish (and possibly Untold Story of Shiloh and Rethinking Shiloh) by Timothy Smith
I’m also planning to visit Shiloh so I’m going to try to read what possibly the top modern expert on the subject has to say. I’ve previously read Cunningham’s and Groom’s books on Shiloh.

Truman and The Wright Brothers by David McCullough
I’ve previously read McCullough’s excellent Path Between The Seas so I’m looking forward to his older book that I understand had a huge part in the reevaluation of Harry Truman’s presidency and also his most recent work.

Target: Rabaul by Bruce Gamble
I enjoyed Fortress Rabaul about operations against the Japanese stronghold through the death of Yamamoto and look forward to this sequel covering the rest of the war.

The Day of Battle and Guns At Last Light by Rick Atkinson
Continuing a trend of sequalitis, I really enjoyed Army at Dawn and want to complete the trilogy.

West Virginia and the Civil War: Mountaineers Are Always Free by Mark Snell
I would want to read this as a Civil War buff, but also double curious as it is technically my home state.

Searching for George Gordon Meade by Tom Huntington
Meade interests me as both a Civil War buff, but also because of his lighthouse connections.  I understand this is not exactly an orthodox biography either.

Those are just my Top 10 (or so).  My official goal for the year is 75.

You can follow my reviews on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

